Fly Fusion Forums

How Many Years Of Fly Fishing Experience On This Board?

Just thought of a cool idea..

I want everyone to post how many years they've been fly fishing.. and then at the end I'll go through all the posts and do the math and see how many years of fly fishing experience we have combined on this forum! Let's say we'll round to the closest year.. unless you're in your first year, then just say one year.

I'm sure it'll be some crazy huge number!

So 1 year for me.

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

5 down and 790 more to go...I would suggest you just multiply the number of members, 795, times, say an average of 3 years expereience for each member and come up with a good guess...say 2385 years of experience. Or are you looking for something to do for the next 6 weeks? :)

I guess I've been fishing with a fly rod for about 30 yrs....hummm...thats a long time....ok, I guess I'm old.

My first trip was with my Dad and I was about 10ish. We took a drive from Saint John (NB) thru St. Martins and on to the mouth of the Salmon river. I remember standing on the walking bridge and watching salmon in their lies. I never saw it but I was told you could stand there when the tide was coming in and watch schools of fish come in. My first solo trips were to there. The fishing was hard and I broke many hoohs off on the rocks behind me. I never caught a fish there. Last I heard the fish count was something like 8 fish counted from the bridge all year ( circa 1997ish).

The river has been closed to angling for many years now but still has not rebounded.

C&R kids

S