Fly Fusion Forums

The Official 09/10 Shack Nasties Thread (nsfw And Anything Goes), Be Forewarned This Thread Will Get Ugly.

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Well despite the recent economic crisis I have been busier than hell this summer and my fishing expeditions have suffered greatly.

I have had some unique fishing experiences such as a high country lake and probably one of my best days ever on the *******stone, but my number of days has been way down.

So after working 12 hour days 7 days a week for the last I don't know how long I decided to take off yesterday to one of my old haunts up north to chase some grayling. This was the creek where I really learned how to flyfish and had great fun there. The grayling were easy and plentiful and thee was even the odd native rainbow thrown in for good measure.

I chose to go there because it is far closer than any of the trunkroad rivers I usually like to fish and saw it as a chance to reconnect with my flyfishing roots.

WHAT A LOUSY ROTTEN DAY.

The fishing was horrible, the garbage and litter everywhere was unreal, the gun shots going off was unnerving, and it just generally sucked. The creek I liked to fish was very low and by the looks of it has not fared so well the last few winters. All the shrubs and bramble has done really well mind you. Caught plenty of willow. There are damn few wintering holes and it would seem they've been cleaned out. Along a giant stretch they have logged right down to the bank which was sad to see. I tried a few others in the neighborhood and didn't come up with much better results.