Fly Fusion Forums

Trouble Enticing On The Dry

Hackleness

Hey everyone, I am new to the Calgary area and also new to fly fishing (many years of throwing spinner gear but I have been converted). I have been fishing the bow for a few months now and have caught a few trout (all on nymphs) but have yet to get one on the dry. Last night I was out for 2 hours before dusk and found a decent run where fish were rising consistently. I saw a steady hatch of big caddis and mayflies? (these were swarming my head on the edge of the bank), and tried every dry fly in my box to no avail, including every size EHC I had with me. I had a few fish actually taking flies less than 10 inches from my imitation (or they were approaching mine and turning away at the last second).

Anybody have any general advice on how to improve my chances? Maybe a longer length or smaller diameter tippet? This river sure is humbling to a newbie. Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

Did you try downsizing (or upsizing) the fly and/or downsizing the tippet?

What about colour? Did you have the correct colour of caddis? Were all your caddis flies the same style?

P

• Like 1

Did you try downsizing (or upsizing) the fly and/or downsizing the tippet?

What about colour? Did you have the correct colour of caddis? Were all your caddis flies the same style?

P

I did try varying the colour and sizes of the EHC. I have colours: black, tan, orange, yellow. Fly size definitely could have been a factor; I think mine were too large. Honestly, I never actually saw fish eating caddis, but with them landing and scurrying around on the water surface I just went with the EHC. I think I need some courses in entomology!

atta boy.

sadly I can't help you with the dry fly advice, sorry.

Yeah I find fly fishing to be far more enjoyable than chucking gear, even when I'm not catching fish.