Fly Fusion Forums

Legality Of Motor Boats Above 22X

so let's get 2014 started with a hot topic... Jetboats.

Does anyone know what the "no motorboat" bylaw fine (in $$$) is on the Bow river above 22X?

From what I have been able to research the Feds deemed the Bow as a navigatable water way and the Feds should have the upper hand over the City in regards to the using the waterway, but of course I'm not a lawyer.

I know some of you will spaz about this topic but what are your thoughts on the legality of running jets right up to Bears Paws

It would be interesting to know why the City is trumping the Federal ruling. We were not allowed to have powerboats for rescue (as per OHS) on the river for several past and ongoing bridge projects being completed over the bow and elbow rivers. The only way we could have a power boat was to pay CPS $900 an hour. The company which I am no longer with was not willing to push the issue, basically putting in other measures and hoping they were effective enough to prevent someone from falling in.

They don't need a CPS boat to give tickets. Someone calls in your boat number, and you get a knock at the door. Yes, this does happen.

Powered boats aren't allowed upstream of Deerfoot Extender, not just 22x.

It's the same idea as the life jackets, the city has proven for safety to not allow joe-jet boat to go rippin in the city. You would never win in court (as someone tried with the life jackets and got laughed out).

With how some of the drivers operate, I can't blame them.

Without get too much into it, things like this fall under the Municipal Government Act which gives Municipalities the right to govern area beyond what federal laws are in place.

taken from the MGA http://www.qp.alberta.ca/documents/acts/m26.pdf

Bylaws
Division 1
General Jurisdiction
General jurisdiction to pass bylaws
7 A council may pass bylaws for municipal purposes respecting
the following matters: