Fly Fusion Forums

Dry Only?

dennyd

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am no pro...but I fish the method that is most likely to catch fish at any given time...is dry fly the way I most enjoy catching fish..ABSOLUTELY!

So in answer to your question...I find it "uncouth" to swing a stick around all day and not catch a fish.

i dont think being in teh industry or not defines ones outlook on being a dryfly purist.. ive had many clients and have friends who it is the only way they want too fish! and so be it! for me i love it all.. BUT specific months i tend too do more of one thing than another thats forsure! but wether it be fishing a double handed rod or single handed rod nymphs streamers n dries are all fine with me! i love stalking snouts on dries but blind casting them aint my thing... streamer fishing is top knotch in my books but i only fish em when i feel it can be more productive! and i do nymph alot!

I'm an uncouth non-professional, so I fish Dry flies Wet flies Nymphs and Streamers. I also scratch my head when I hear the term "Wet flies" used here. As far as I have ever known wet flies are a class of flies, (covering winged wets, wingless wets and flymphs) not any fly that is fished under the water.

I also scratch my head when I hear the term "Wet flies" used here. As far as I have ever known wet flies are a class of flies, (covering winged wets, wingless wets and flymphs) not any fly that is fished under the water.

You're correct on that, I contribute my use of it purely to laziness.

Ah yes...one of the two titanic debates of flyfishing. The other being "what is the definition of flyfishing?".

Both debates are silly and a great way to help pass the long winters. Hence, I've participated in both. :)

So when I put on an elk hair caddis with an adjust a bubble on my nephew's spinning rod, is that the purist ideal of dry fly fishing? ;)

Smitty