Fly Fusion Forums

Elk Hair Caddis Tips

FlyTrapper

Hi guys, as I'm sure most of you know, I am very new to tying. My interest has shifted to tying some dry flies and in particular, Elk Hair Caddis. There has been a couple questions I have been wondering about, and I was hoping someone could shed some light on the subject.

The first question is about hackle on the fly. Today I purchased a bag of saddle hackle to use, however I am using size 14-16 hooks, and the hackle is huge, even using the smallest feathers I can find in the bag, is there a way guys make their hackle smaller? The fly looks awful with the large hackle I have right now.

My second question is regarding thread. I am using Tan UTC 70. Whenever I go to tighten down on the elk hair, or even pull just a little too hard the thread breaks. Is the problem that I am pulling too hard or is there a chance my bobbin is damaging the thread? It is getting a little annoying as I cannot get enough pressure on the thread to get the elk hair to stay in place.

As well, if anyone has any other tips on tying Caddis or any other dry fly it would greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Nick

Suspect your bobbin is screwed if you're breaking UTC 70 that easily. That stuff is tough, and should easily handle any trout fly.

Also, dig through your saddle and find any of the real small fibres. Otherwise it sounds like you ended up with a bit of a wooly bugger version. You'll want to make sure you buy 'dry fly' saddles, or something similar, otherwise you'll have issues. You can trim the fibres, but it's not going to look as good.

Also, don't be afraid to tie them with Deer hair. I find they float better and easier to tie

• Like 3

I think EHC look fine with trimmed hackle. Fish don't care either. Trim barbs to length before wrapping. Also get some dry fly hackle for other patterns. They don't look so good with trimmed hackle.

I actually find EHC work better without the hackle anyway.

• Like 1