Fly Fusion Forums

The Best 5wt Reel

bigbrooktrout

Im not a pro by any means but i have 2 okuma helios reels and for 2 bones ...u cant beat it(think ebay has them for 169) . Check one out sometime, super smooth drag(smooth start up, not big strain then the drag lets go). I also think they r salt resistant too. Wholesale got'em

Personally i would get the Amundson TXS, it 100% machined aluminum, and has a solid sealed cork drag system, and its 100 bucks at fishtales. http://amundson.ca/accessories/flyreels/TXS.html

Nick

X2

I have two of the TXS, one on my 5wt and one on my new 6wt, and for the money, you can't beat it. Awesome reel for the money.

It really depends on what features you are looking for. Click/pawl ? Islander IR4LA, no question, hands down. Will them to your great grandchildren. (IF you can find one under $300)

Exceptional disc drag, super large arbor, amazingly light? Amundson's Wind Warrior Feather Lite 4/6 Fly Reel WWXL here

I spent last year torture-testing the prototype on both 5wt single-hand and the 1134 Trout Spey before recommending it go into production. The drag is cork/polymer composite disc onto a stainless disc, butter-smooth, never sticks, lube not required and expels any water between the discs to stop incidental "hydro-planing" free wheeling.

$229 is retail. Fish Tales will have them.

j

You can get Islander IR4LAs out of the States for under 3 bills Canuck, ain't no finer click/pawl out there