Fly Fusion Forums

Pontoon Modification Question

So thoughts might ask a few questions here about upgrading the pontoon.

I am buying a trolling motor and battery tomorrow however I have concerns that the mesh back that comes on the outcast 9IR won't be tiring enough to hold 30lbs of deep cycle.

For the time being I am going to strap a piece of wood on there.

I would like to eventually put some Aluminum on there. strength and weight?????

Questions

-do you think Aluminium is the best to go with?

-where do you get Aluminium?

-where do I get it cut to what I need!

Any other ideas?

I have almost exactly the same boat as yours the 10-IR with the mesh in the back. I have a full size deep cycle motor (in a battery case) and the 30lb trolling motor mounted with no issues. The mesh is really strong and I've been using it for 2 years now. The mesh still looks like the day it came out of the box and I haven't baby'd it.

The most annoying thing I have yet to figure out is how to easily steer the motor when it's behind me. The best I've figured out is to extend the handle far enough so that my back can touch it and steer it that way. I need to find a way to make a pulley system to steer the motor when seated.

I have almost exactly the same boat as yours the 10-IR with the mesh in the back. I have a full size deep cycle motor (in a battery case) and the 30lb trolling motor mounted with no issues. The mesh is really strong and I've been using it for 2 years now. The mesh still looks like the day it came out of the box and I haven't baby'd it.

The most annoying thing I have yet to figure out is how to easily steer the motor when it's behind me. The best I've figured out is to extend the handle far enough so that my back can touch it and steer it that way. I need to find a way to make a pulley system to steer the motor when seated.

Why don't you just change it to a front steer?