Fly Fusion Forums

Rick's Story Of The Week

So ya'll may have noticed a gambling, fighting, fishing theme in my previous stories. After reading about some of my ancestors, you might think "that Rick must be one fightin', gamblin' and fishin' dude". Not so much. If you fish as often as I do, you are bound to luck into a few. I really have almost no fishing instincts at all. As for fighting, unless you count leading with your face a "style", I am pretty useless. My lack of ability to gamble led directly to my quitting university the first time. I gambled a lot, sucked at it, and ran out of money. No easy task as I had been saving for school for several years while working for my dad. (Now that I think about it, maybe MissinTheBow and I were switched at birth. He gambles, used to box and can catch a fish or two, or so I'm told. I haven't seen it yet, but I believe him. He could be my fathers son, if he were only taller, and better lookin').

Anyway, running out of money caused me to start looking for a job. Looking for a job led me to the Navy, and the Navy led me to this story (try to follow the logic, I know it's convoluted).

I spent 8 yrs in the US Navy as a Nuclear Reactor Operator (save the Homer or radiation makes you bald jokes, odds are I've heard 'em all) and then Supervisor. The last three years were on the USS Birmingham, SSN-695 protecting the free world. While on the Birmingham, we were steaming towards a date with Thailand after a long operation in the North Pacific (which is another story in itself). After being cooped up in a sub for 70 days or so, Thailand certainly had it's attractions. Unfortunately, while running drills, we ran into a bit of a problem.