Fly Fusion Forums

Truly Long Term Climate Info

I am a geologist used to working with data spanning millions of years. This is a primary reason I've been sceptical of the theory of anthropogenic driven climate change. The link below shows graphically and effectively the relavance of our human historical perspective. That is, we know squat about global climate variability because our time frame of observation is so insignificant. I collected tropical coral fossils on Ellesmere Island for a couple of summers. Also, the data has issues. The website also has links to the theory proponent websites.

http://wattsupwiththat.com/2009/12/12/hist...ntext-of-scale/

And for a truly geologic scale:

http://climateobserver.blogspot.com/2009/1...nd-climate.html

There's a series of chart images or you can click on the youtube video to get slides with expanding time slices of temperature history from ice cores. Looking at the data trend for the last 3000-10000 years, it appears we are in a cooling trend.

One interesting note from the data is that the 10000 year stable warm period we are in coincides with the development of agriculture and resulting blossoming of human technology and culture. Could stable agricultural societies have developed at any other time? Migration certainly would been much more limited.