Fly Fusion Forums

Best Way To Learn

Hey guys and gals, just a quick question.

Which style, dry, nymph or streamer is typically the best way to learn how to fly fish? I went down to the Bow below Cranston the other morning, and tried out the nymphs that I have, but I found that due to my rookieness (if that's a word) in casting, I was spending more time untying knots in my line caused by my strike indicator and my heavier fly weaving about each other. I found it quite difficult to cast as a rookie, should I be trying the dry fly until I get better at casting, or am I just casting challenged?

Thanks for the input.

Well here is my 2 cents, and I'm no expert. I found learning dries was easiest and nymphing very close behind. However I found the Bow the hardest river to learn on. I did most of my learning on smaller streams. The Bow is more difficult to read when you are just starting, it's inconsistent, and it's intimidating. All still apply and I've been fishing it now for 10 years. Also I found I was really focused on casting far instead of focusing on proper technique. I would recommend you frequent some smaller streams to get the feel for reading the river and how to present the different methods you mentioned. The smaller streams allows for better control and feel for what your fly is doing. As for casting, practice this in any park and you'll become much more confident very quickly. Just keep at it and soon you'll be bringing in a 20+ inch brownie.