Fly Fusion Forums

5wt Rod 7wt Line

Tungsten

maybe.. your rod is severly overlines and overloading causing it too slingshot you line out there.. makes it easy too throw a half assed bomb but it will in time bust almost forsure..... overlining a fast action rod one isnt usually to bad for them but 2 is pushing your luck...

I'm no pro but...It can be a good thing to overline a rod when needed to cast that little bit farther...i.e...Stillwaters and bigger faster rivers where presentation is not a big deal and ya wanna get that streamer out there......And ya need that bit more distance...As far as breakin your rod, I doubt it...But ya never know...

Cheers...Jeff..

*edit...Like Maxwell says...2 up might be pushin it...I have never tried 2 up...Only one up...Max would know best...

Guest bigbadbrent

you very well could blow up your rod by putting too much stress on it, aka double hauling with 80 feet and its over lined by two..they give you a line rating for a reason

leadhead,

Lets try a tad of math here.

A 5 weight line for 30' of length weighs 140 grains or 4.67 grs/ft

A 6 weight line for 30' of length weighs 160 grains or 5.33 grs./ft

A 7 weight line for 30' of length weighs 185 grains or 6.167 grs/ft.

A 6 wt. is 20 grains heavier than a 5 weight or about 4.28' less for the same bend in the rod.

A 7 wt is 45 grains heavier than a 5 weight or about 7.3' less for the same bend in the rod.

So a heavier line just casts a tad shorter, PROVIDING THE ROD MANUFACUTER LISTED THE LINE WEIGHT CORRECTLY - MOST DO NOT. THEY TEND TO UNDER RATE THE ROD TO MAKE DAMN SURE THAT IT WILL CAST 50' W/O EFFORT. The line weight selected by the manufacturer is completely subjective. It's what he says it is. Doesn't mean that you should agree with him. He unlike you, is required to have rods all through the line weight range. If he doesnt have one, I'd suspect, based on published interviews of the rod designers, they'd paste anything on a rod to get a sale.