Fly Fusion Forums

Your Input

flyangler

I was contemplating a TFO Pro two hander and wondered if I would really be that much better off with a 9 wt that's 14' than with a 8wt 13' 3"? Total novice here.

We're fishing the Skeena system this fall. I have a one hand 8wt and access to spinning and casting rods for this trip.

I would say that it depends on the type of fishing you prefer to do. Skagit shooting heads are suited to shorter, softer actions rods, such as the TFO Deer Creek series and the use of long/heavy sink tips and big flies, usually fished deep.

Longer rods with softer actions are best suited to traditional long belly lines and shorter sink tips. These lines are also available as a Multi tip system, to fish from surface to bottom.

Longer fast action rods like the TFO pro series, work well with Scandi Shooting heads for surface presentations, but not as suitable for fishing heavy sink tips. The Pro series has a Skagit model as well.

So it's a matter of the type of fishing you like to do and the conditions you are fishing. I have both series of these TFO rods in the same length and line weight, with 3 different types of lines and have all options to effectively fish any type of water, at any depth, in all conditions.

The longer the Rod/Line size, the farther you can cast heavier sink tips and flys.

Best to try a couple of different rod sizes and line systems before you buy.

I really like the TFO DC series, as it is great for Skagit Heads, Traditional Spey lines or with a Multi-tip system.

I'll probably go to the dark side for fishing sub surface. I'd like the spey rod for skating flies. So can I save a little weight with the smaller rod reel and line set up, or will I just not be able to deliver the fly where it needs to go on a big river without a 14' rod?

Thank you for your reply, I just maybe don't know enough to ask smart questions.

Hi flyangler,