Fly Fusion Forums

Stories About Crap

I used to work in the field for a large Oilfield Service Company. One of the company legends involves taking a crap outside of a lease. In many cases, there was no bathroom anywhere near the wellsite, which caused the occasional trip into the woods. In winter, this also included lots of snow.

On day, an operator leaves the truck to go take care of business. He walks out into the snowy woods and drops his coveralls, being very careful to make sure no part of his very nice winter coveralls, or worse yet, hood are hanging behind him. He finishes his business and does what we all do, look behind him. To discover nothing. No hole in the snow, no evidence at all of what he knows should be there. He then begins to carefully check his coveralls to see if the unthinkable had happened, but no evidence of any unwanted messes. He is very unsure what to do as he knows it has to be somewhere, and he still suspects the coveralls. As he is standing there perplexed, he hears a slight snicker from behind him. He looks and standing behind a big tree is his engineer holding a long handled shovel he had stashed in his truck for such an occasion!

Crappy story 2:

Operator walks into the woods to do his thing. Looks behind him afterward to discover he had not fully moved his hood out of the way. These hoods snapped onto our winter coveralls (and were the envy of the oilpatch back in those days), so in much disgust he unsnaps the hood and waking back to the truck throws the offending hood into the flare pit. He tells no one what had happened as he was a bit embarrassed.