Fly Fusion Forums

Will Man Ever Understand This Planet?

This is an article in the news today. I find this quite amusing as I work in the heating/refrigeration industry. Since it was discovered (or assumed incorrectly, I don't know which term to use) that the depletion of the ozone layer was mans doing we have spent billions if not trillions of dollars replacing CFC's in various refrigeration systems across the world. In Alberta the cost to retrofit a typical refrigeration system for a large commercial building is in excess of $100,000. Most large commercial building buildings have a least two systems. Was it all necessary?

Does this sound a little familiar? Global what? ;)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From : http://www.cbc.ca/technology/story/2007/07...-antarctic.html

British researchers have found large quantities of natural ozone-depleting chemicals in Antarctica.

Chemists from the University of Leeds, the University of East Anglia and the British Antarctic Survey reported finding high concentrations of halogens, such as bromine and iodine oxides.

"The springtime peak of iodine oxide [20 parts per trillion] is the highest concentration recorded anywhere in the atmosphere," said an abstract of their study, published in the journal Science on Thursday.

The bromine came from sea salt and the iodine from "almost certainly bright orange algae that coat the underside of the sea ice around the continent," they said in a release.

Halogens deplete the ozone above the ice surface, which reduce the capacity of the atmosphere to remove certain chemical compounds.

"We still have to work out what the ramifications of this discovery are," said John Plane, professor of atmospheric chemistry at the University of Leeds.