Fly Fusion Forums

Early Season Camping On The Bow

Hey guys, I am planning my first trip to the Bow for next week (April 4th-6th). I'm a long time lurker (since the old FlyFishAlberta board) and live in the Edmonton area (born and raised) and want to travel to some open trout water (winter lasts too long up here). Anyways, I prefer not to motel it and am curious if there are any camp sites open in or east of the city. I have tried Nature's Hideaway near Carseland and another one close to the city but both are closed until April 15th. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. - If it helps, I am strictly Fly Fishing CnR when it comes to trout .... not so much with Perch :). I'm also a photographer and plan on doing some nature/landscape photography in the area. I have done some research and have a few spots to try out, but if you guys know any spots that are good, and don't mind sharing, please let me know. If anyone know some great places with beautiful scenery to photograph, that would be a bonus too. Thanks again! :D

-Joe M.

Claresholm Centennial Park ( Campsite )

P.O. Box 1000, Claresholm

Phone: 403-625-2751 Fax: 403-625-3869

Open: Open Year Round

Units: 18

Thats the closest campground anywhere near the city i could find sorry buddy might be as close to the river as you can get if you wana camp. Good luck

I know there is a campground on the bow near carseland, however am not sure if it is open yet. Here is the website:

http://www.wyndhamcarselandpark.com/

If you do end up camping there i believe that the bow from the highway 24 bridge upstream to the wier is closed from april 1 until the end of may. It is just a short drive to Mckinnons from there.

Good luck!

Just wade out and camp on one of the many 'islands' in the middle of the Bow.