Fly Fusion Forums

Switch Rods

ReelLife

Where do you guys draw the line between using a switch rod versus moving to a proper 2-handed rod in your fishing? I am thinking of maybe using a switch rod for my chironomid fishing from a boat (use up to 3 flies up to 5 feet apart on a 20' leader and an indicator). I thought this set-up might be easier to cast than with my 9' 5 wt or 6 wt single-handed rod. A switch rod at 10' 6" is also not too long for handling in a small boat. Note the line I am currently using is a floating WF 5wt or 6 wt. The fish being caught are in the 15"-22" range (the odd one could be bigger). So what size switch if appropriate? Further to this, how about a switch rod for pike fishing in a lake (boating or wading)? What size would one need that would be equivalent to an 8 or 9wt single-handed rod and what line for throwing big streamers? Maybe in this application I should be just looking at the regular two-handed rod?

I am a newbie to the whole spey casting scene and so am doing the Loop spey casting clinic in May. I just got myself two books: Spey Casting by Simon Gawesworth and Two-Handed Fly Casting by Al Buhr. Neither book talks specifically about switch rods. I wish I could see Courtney when he comes to Calgary and talk to Gordon when he comes, but will be in England. Currently, I do not own any two-handed rods. I was hoping to get into spey casting for both river and lake fishing.