Fly Fusion Forums

Newbie Spey Caster

JMasson

First, I'd like to say that I am a complete novice when it comes to spey casting. I use some of the casts with my single-hand rods when the situations call for it. Anyways, I have a trip planned to go to New Brunswick for some atlantic salmon this year and also have a steelhead/ pacific salmon trip in the works...I'd like to carry a spey rod with me. I've seen where I'll be fishing out east and the river is BIG to say the least...it would be really hard work with a single-hand rod.

Now, what do you all think would be a good rod. I was thinking something in the 12'- 13' range...probably 12'-6". Bear in mind that I won't be using the rod a whole lot...couple-three times a year maybe and when I fish the Bow (which is not that often, maybe once a year). I'm in the preliminary stages right now and I'm basically just shopping and looking for opinions. I live in Edmonton but wouldn't mind driving to Calgary and picking a rod up if it's worth it. I have a reel picked out for it...actually, I've got two reels picked out so I'll have to decide eventually. Later on I'll probably ask for more advice and help when it comes to lines and also casting.

Thanks for any help!

James

I was looking at probably $250-300 max. just because it's not a rod I see myself using more than a handful of times each year. I'm looking at either a Ross of a Pfleuger for reels. I have a couple TFO single-handers that I actually really like so I was kind of thinking about a TFO spey rod. I like the warranty and unlike others I have only ever had one break on me...and that was after I hit a dog that was attacking me with it.

James