Fly Fusion Forums

The Canadian Fly Fisher - Readers Showcase

Hello,

I've been a casual angler since I was a kid but this is my first year fly fishing and I'm definitely "hooked". I often hear of new fly fisherman going a season or two without catching anything because of trying to teach themselves, and I have to admit that I'm very spoiled because my best friend and fishing partner - Corey - has been fly fishing for 9 years now and is very knowledgable. Corey has been showing me the different techniques and although I've only been fly fishing since April I've had a very productive season so far. My very first trip out was on the Crowsnest River down by Bellevue, Alberta back in April and I managed 4 10-12" rainbows to hand.

My personal bests so far for each species are a 22" Brown trout from the Bow here in Calgary, a 22" Rainbow (first ever dry fly fish) from the Columbia River in Castlegar, BC. Still haven't hooked into a big Cutthroat yet, but the season is still young! I'm told these are very respectable for a rookie! haha

But so far I have to say I'm proudest of my very first Bull Trout - this 24" beauty from the Sheep River in southern Alberta:

IMG_3785.jpg

He was caught by stripping "Lefty's Deceiver" through a deep pool with a 4 weight TFO TiCr. Man, I sure felt the power of these beautiful fish! Corey and I pulled 4 of these beauty's out of one hold in a span of 15 minutes.. the smallest being 24"!

I am a subscriber to your magazine and would love to be considered for the next Readers' Showcase.

Tight Lines!

Birchy,

First year for me too. My "teachers" to date have been Max, MissinTheBow, Toolman, my friends Didier and Kevin, and Wayne and Trevor Hanson (but I don't know about Wayne. Mostly just tries to get my money ;) ). This forum has helped immensely as well. To say I've been fortunate is an understatement. I was thinking of this the other day as I come to the end of my first year. PBs:

Rainbow 26.5" (may be awhile before I top that)