Fly Fusion Forums

Hook Is Set, Now How Do I Reel Them In?

crookednose

I'm quite new to the sport and encountered some troubles this weekend. So here's the dilemma - I'm fishing upstream, stripping my line and I get a strike. I pinch the line with my rod hand and set the hook. I think I'm supposed to keep pressure on the line to prevent the fish from dropping the hook, so what is the best way to reel in the fish keeping in mind I have extra line loose from stripping? I've just been bringing the fish in by hand lately, but I reckon you must have a reel for a reason!

That said, I've read a bit about playing a fish and using the drag of your reel when a fish runs. I guess you probably use this tactic when playing a larger fish so you don't snap your leader. Again though, how would you let your slack line out (while keeping pressure on) until your reel sets the drag? How much line do you let the fish take? How long should you play the fish before you bring it in?

Any help and advice would be appreciated. I set the hook a few times this weekend, but lost most of them while bringing the fish in ...

Good question, that not many people have the nerve to ask.

The fact is that you will almost always have a "Loop" of line at your feet when you hook a fish Fly fishing, and you definitely want to use your reel to fight the fish.

Hopefully this will help you.

You always want to have "2 point contact" with the line, with the hand that you hold the rod with. What I mean is you want the line running through your hand looping over your Pinkie and back through your pointer fingers. I see new fly anglers only looping it through the pointer having only "1 point contact" with the line.

This way, if you lose one point of contact, you will still have contact with the line so you can keep tension on the line for the fight.