Fly Fusion Forums

Fishin' Spots

Tyler25

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to the flyfishing world. Me and a friend just picked up a fairly inexpensive starter rig (no waders as of yet). Problem is we have no clue where to go to give it a try. We'd like to maybe check out somewhere West, just to get that nice mountain air while learning, but within a reasonable distance from downtown Calgary. Does anyone have any suggestions/directions for common areas (not expecting any of your super-secret most-favorite spots!).

Any help is much appreciated.

Try out around Seebe dam, above and below, it has some decent access that won't require waders, Below ghost dam has easy access..of course i have no Idea what the flows are like out there , depending on how new you are, and your just looking for a place to cast, fish creek would be your best bet i think, here's lots of room and good opportunity to hook into a gooder...or anywhere in the city for that matter..you don;t need to leave the city for fish.. ;)

Try some small mountain streams if you don't have waders. In about a month, you'll be able to wet wade them without problems. cataract by the campground is a nice place to go if you don't care about the size of fish. Good presentations should be rewarded with fiesty little brookies....

you could also try rawson lake (requires a few hour hike off upper kananaskis lake). rawson has lots of easy-to-catch fish and lots of room to cast. i don't think rawson opens for another few weeks though. you could also try other mountain lakes like chester (also requires a hike) or wedge pond (no hike involved).

you could also check a post a few weeks back on the stocking program in alberta. there's a bunch of lakes that are stocked and the fishing should be good if there are still fish in them. i believe MissTheBow posted the stocking locations.

there are also small streams close to cataract such as etherington creek that has lots of small brookies that are quite easy to catch as well.