Fly Fusion Forums

New To Calgary - First Trip Recommendations!

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Alberta (start work in Calgary October 1st) and the first trip is planned for the weekend of the 6-8th of October; just don't know where I'm going yet!

Looking for recommendations for the top pics for a weekend trip, within 2.5 hour drive, and I would like to camp.

I have already got some much appreciated and excellent advice from 'dryfly'.

I look forward to your votes and info.

Thanks!

Bill

I can offer up some great suggestions but before I do, do you know what the weather is typically like in Calgary at that time of year both within the city and in the mountains (if that's where you're thinking of heading)?

P.S. Welcome to Alberta :)

Oh my guess is weather in the mountains probably starting to snow, but still ~10-15 degrees everywhere else. That about right?

I'm not too worried about fishing/camping in the cold. As long as the fish are still biting!

Thanks!

Bill

Ya....snow and sub zero temps at night in the mountains is a good bet.

10 - 15 degrees in October? I've had days cooking a turkey for Thanksgiving where I've experienced that, but I don't know if I'd count on those types of temps for that time of year. The weather here is anything but predictable and seasonal values mean nothing. Don't mean to rain on your camping trip, just want to make sure you know what you're in for. I guess if you are prepared for any and all scenarios you'll do just fine. We can have a fabulous fall here in Calgary, but it's usually pretty shortlived.