Fly Fusion Forums

Bull Flies / Pike Flies???

I'm pretty new to fly fishing for pike. So my question is can you use the same streamers that you usually use for bulls (clouser minnows, bow river buggers etc.) for pike as well? Because I see so many different flies for pike that are in yellow and pink colors. Don't they generally eat the same minnows? Thanks.

I'm pretty new to fly fishing for pike. So my question is can you use the same streamers that you usually use for bulls (clouser minnows, bow river buggers etc.) for pike as well? Because I see so many different flies for pike that are in yellow and pink colors. Don't they generally eat the same minnows? Thanks.

Yep, from what I've read they'll work just fine.

From my experience..Pike love yellow anything..usually when targeting pike your in still water and want to cast a fairly long line, I'd avoid heavy overweighted streamers as they'll get difficult to cast, if your fishing deep water, a slow sinking leader or line will be the answer. For shallower water I don;t use any weight at all ... don;t forget a mouse and frog imitation, not that they work overly well but it sure is fun watching them pound it on the surface through the weeds...remember to beef up the tippet for the sharp teeth, i use 12 lb and change it often with few incidences...

I'd be curious to know if Clive or any of you other guys ever throw double streamers for pike?........ bad idea? ly

The best I can figure out is pike like big active baits..... whether they pop, skim, dart, jig, or vibrate. Knowing the size of the pike you might catch I think might help to determine the size of fly you want to use as it seems to me they seem to be the sorta fish where the big fly big fish is fairly true.......

but I should point out I am by no stretch of the imagination an avid pike fisherman or even terribly good at it :D Not enough opportunities to do it