Fly Fusion Forums

Streamers

nickt

i am by no means a pro at streamer fishing. As a result i have actually kind of scared myself away from it for the most part beause of my technique and lack of catching fish. I never really know if i am deep enough. i am trying various methods such as a sink tip and floating line with some weight. what would you guys suggest for the bow this time of year. full sink, sink tip or full float?

Not a pro by any means. I've been told when water conditions are low, use floating line and sink tip when the water is higher. I find bombing the banks from a drift boat with a sink tip to be very effective when the water is high and murky.

You could also try dead drifting steamers when wading...

Water's really low right now, so I'm using a full floating line and a longish (say 10') leader with a weighted fly and a big split right at the head of the fly. The floating line is way easier to mend with and is easy to cast.

Technique-wise, don't worry so much about it. Get the fly out there, get a good upstream mend in there, and then mix it up until you find what works. You'll know you're getting down by watching the end of the line and feeling the line. Sometimes you can strip the whole time, sometimes you can slowly take long strips, and sometimes you can just throw a bunch of line behind the fly and mend as you swing the fly across the current. Whatever you do, let the fly come to a full stop below you and then strip it a bit. I often retrieve until I can see the fly - you would be amazed how often a fish will track the fly all the way in and follow it right to your feet before inhaling the fly.