Fly Fusion Forums

Spey Casting Help

Guest Grinr

Guest Grinr

Hey all,any experienced Spey enthusiasts out there interested in spending an evening or cpl hrs Sunday helping a Spey newb get started on the right foot/demonstrate a cpl basic casts before I develop self taught bad habits from watching videos and saying to self,"I've seen it on u-tube and I'm pretty sure I can do it!"

FWIW,I've been flyfishing with single handers for 25 yrs and after sitting on the Spey fence for the last cpl years,recently bought a Spey rig here off the trading post.

Im not looking for your secret Bow R. hotspots nor even care if I catch fish,just learn a cpl basics?I'd be most interested in Scandi at this time(have Skagit head as well) in prep for upcoming east coast Atlantic salmon trip in a few weeks and hope to at least be proficient enough by then that I'm not tearing up the pool/putting fish down/pissing off the local single handers?In fact,I have a few Bow R stretches in mind that closely resemble my home pool on Miramichi but I'm open to meeting anywhere at your convenience.

Thx for lookin',Dave

• 3 weeks later...
Just saw your post. Not sure if it's too late, but I could try to help for a couple of hours Aug 18 or 19. Better option would be to sign up for Simon Gawesworth course the following weekend.