Fly Fusion Forums

Line Recommendations

sldrose

I'm building a sage one 8126-4 (8wt 12' 6") blank for a Skeena/bulkley tribs trip this fall

Any advice on what line works for this rod. I cant find the recommended grain windows as this rod is on closeout.

I am new to spey/steelhead fishing. I've done a couple casting days at the FT speyorama.

The rio website line selector recommended 8 lines for this rod (didn't help me narrow it down)

It recommended "Skagit MAX" and "Skagit MAX short" lines in grain weights from 425 to 575.

Seems like a large grain window.

As I said, I'm new to spey casting but I have picked it up well.

I understand they throw 10' T14 in those systems.

What do you recommend?

Should I go the short head 20' or the standard 24'

Should I go the 575gr head if I'm fishing T14, or go lighter.

any advice would be welcomed.

Also any preference on shooting line.

thanks

The grain window is like that to let you know what will adequately load or over load the rod. If you're using heavier tips and bigger flies, or like to feel more flex to time your cast, maybe err on the heavier side of the window.

I think I've seen guys on spey pages chatter about liking the heavier heads on that rod.

Bcube will call me out on this, but...t14 in the fall? Seems a little wild. How late in the season are you going? Usually type 6 handles it all...even in winter. I filed the 14 away and just fish 6 with a change the weight of the fly and my casting angle. Your arms might thank you at the end of the day!

• Like 1